Friday, August 8, 7:30 p.m. at St. Augustine's in-the-woods, Freeland, WA

Sunday, August 10, 2:00 p.m. at Greenbank Farm, Greenbank WA


There is a growing awareness among early music performers in this country that we may be able to apply our viewpoint - taking earlier European music seriously on its own terms and in its original state - to the vast subject of America's own musical history. This program takes the era and music of Stephen Foster as our point of departure for a new musical adventure. All of these performers have grown up with one foot in the early music camp and one in some form of American traditions. Come and find out if we can walk with both feet!

Hard Times                                                                                        Stephen Foster (1826-1864)

Slumber my darling

Angelina Baker


Instrumental Set

The Braes of Auchtertyre

Billy in the Lowland/Billy in the Lowground

The Banshee


Lincoln Set

Old Kentucky Home



The Year of Jubilo

Battle Cry of Freedom




Westward Expansion

Buffalo skinners

Cumberland Gap

Com, come, Ye Saints

Hop Light Ladies


Instrumental set

The Galway

Cuckoo's Nest

Julie Ann Johnson

The Devil in the Strawstack

Final set - Murder Ballads

The Wind and the Rain

Little Sadie

Come all ye fair and tender ladies


Catherine Webster, soprano

Tekla Cunningham and Brandon Vance, violins

Tom Berghan, banjo

Stephen Stubbs, guitar